New Sneak Peek at My Upcoming Novel “Illusion of Certainty”

I’m continuing to make progress on my new book “Illusion of Certainty.” It will be my third novel and I’m excited to continue the process. The plot involves two parallel storylines—one involves Marc Grant, a successful businessman who is troubled by the sudden mysterious behavior of his wife, Aimee.
The second story line concerns a young attorney named Alexandra, who everyone calls Alex. One day Alex is confronted with an emergency situation across the street from her house as she leaves for work. The crisis changes her life.
The overarching theme of the story is how much uncertainty exists in our day-to-day life. We are often blissfully unaware of the risks inherit in daily living. Events can suddenly change which will cast a cloud of uncertainty over our seemingly well-ordered lives.
The following is a sneak preview of Chapter 7 as Marc continues to be troubled by the aloof behavior of his wife. He quite by chance discovers a new troubling development.

Marc grabbed the mail after Aimee’s first sort and said “I’ll take care of this” as he walked towards the office.
Aimee said, “I’m headed for the Jacuzzi for a soak.”
“Really? Sounds more fun than bill paying. Want some company?”
“It’s tempting but not tonight. We’d probably both get in the Jacuzzi about the time Maddy comes home from practice. My body feels a little used up right now,” Aimee said. “I went for a run early this morning then did a ten hour shift at work. I think I’m done.”
Marc said nothing, and then asked if she had eaten anything.
Aimee said that she had her dinner and wondered why he hadn’t eaten?
“I don’t know– I was waiting for you I guess.”
Marc was left with microwaving last night’s leftovers, going through the mail and glancing at the morning paper. Leftovers. That’s what Marc felt like he’d been getting for some time now. His frustration was building again and he wanted some one-on-one time with Aimee. Again the answer was “not tonight.”
The next day, Marc arose about 6 a.m. and took a shower. He quickly dressed and scooped up his keys, cell phone and other tools for his day. Among the items which were in yesterday’s mail were new insurance cards for the cars. They were in the stack of his items to take with him this morning.
Marc went into the garage and dumped his stuff into his BMW. He put the new insurance card in the glove compartment. He then walked to the passenger side of Aimee’s Honda SUV to put the new card in with her important papers.
He was surprised to see her gym bag sitting on the passenger side seat of her car.
Aimee carried it faithfully when she and Marc moved their workouts indoors, in the dead of winter, to a health club where they had a membership. Marc and Aimee ran outside every day until winter really set in on Oregon, which was usually sometime early in November.
Marc was puzzled at the appearance of the gym bag. He knew Aimee wasn’t going to the club to work out. For some reason he unzipped the cloth bag. There were some running-clothes in it. Then he saw a flash of pink. Rolled up in a neat ball and tucked in the front of the bag was the new pink nightie from Victoria’s Secret.
This stopped him cold. Why would that be in her gym bag? Why would it be in her car?

I will post new sneak previews in coming weeks. “Illusion of Certainty” is expected to be published this summer.

About gregmessel

I've written six novels and am working on a seventh. My first three novels were "Expiation," "Sunbreaks" and "The Illusion of Certainty." I'm now working on a series of mysteries set in San Francisco in the 1950s. In 2008, I retired from corporate life and so I can spend more time writing. I spent over ten years in the newspaper business. I now live on Puget Sound in Edmonds, Washington, just north of downtown Seattle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

