Writing A New Book — The Process

I enjoy the writing of a new book much more than the marketing and all of the things that go with it. The process of writing is the good part. There is something wondorous about when other people read your book, have opinions about the characters and get involved in the world you create in a novel. However, there is a private time as you are writing when the characters and the world they live in are all yours. It is your private little world where you can retreat for months while you are in the creative process.
I wondered if only I felt that way, then I saw an interview with J.K.Rowling who said almost those exact words in describing her favorite part of writing. There is a time when it is your little world.
I was at a book sigining with another author one day and we were both saying how privately we liked our second books more than the first one we wrote. However, she said she was going to work to market the first book some more because she owes it to her characters. I feel the same way. I develop a personal relationship with my characters.
Now I am writing my third book “The Illusion of Certainty”. It will undoubtedly take all winter and into the spring. I find I don’t write chapters in the order they will appear in the final book.
In my last book “Expiation” I jumped back and forth in time between events in the 1960s and 70s and 1999. I found it easier to write the entire 1960s story and then write the 1999 story. Later I weaved them together.
In my new book I have written five chapters which will be at the beginning and I have written the last two. Now I feel I am into the story and the characters and can start putting meat on the bones of my plot.
The exciting part of the process however, is there will be twists and turns in the story that I don’t even know myself yet. It will reveal itself as I immerse myself in the writing process.
That’s the fun part.

About gregmessel

I've written six novels and am working on a seventh. My first three novels were "Expiation," "Sunbreaks" and "The Illusion of Certainty." I'm now working on a series of mysteries set in San Francisco in the 1950s. In 2008, I retired from corporate life and so I can spend more time writing. I spent over ten years in the newspaper business. I now live on Puget Sound in Edmonds, Washington, just north of downtown Seattle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

