Pondering The “What Ifs”

Many people stop to ponder the “what ifs” in their life. “What if” I had made a different decision about the person I married? “What if” I had married my high school sweetheart? How different would my current life be if I had chosen another path when I was younger?

One overriding theme in my novel “Expiation” is how the outcome of our life could be so different based on decisions we make along the way. The main character in “Expiation” decides to leave his high school sweetheart in Seattle to pursue a newspaper career in San Francisco. The impact of making that decision put his former girlfriend’s life on a very different path and she has a life of loneliness and heartbreak. How much can person be responsible for another’s life? The decisions we make not only impact our life but others as well.

In “Expiation” I talk about a pebble cast into a pond. Once the pebble disturbs the calm surface of the pond, ripples can go all directions. The ripples can not be controlled by the person who tossed the stone. See if you agree as you read “Expiation.”

About gregmessel

I've written six novels and am working on a seventh. My first three novels were "Expiation," "Sunbreaks" and "The Illusion of Certainty." I'm now working on a series of mysteries set in San Francisco in the 1950s. In 2008, I retired from corporate life and so I can spend more time writing. I spent over ten years in the newspaper business. I now live on Puget Sound in Edmonds, Washington, just north of downtown Seattle.
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pondering The “What Ifs”

  1. neftwink says:

    Hi, just a quick reply to your comments here, “Many people stop to ponder the “what ifs” in their life. “What if” I had made a different decision about the person I married? “What if” I had married my high school sweetheart? How different would my current life be if I had chosen another path when I was younger?”

    I believe every choice we didn’t make in this lifetime, has or is being made in different lifetimes – and possibly in parallel Universes.

    I believe that our evolution depends on our being able to experience every possible possiblity available to us, be it here now or somewhere – somewhen else.

    I’m writing my memoir right now. I’ve never written a book before, and I intend to have it published, even if I have to self publish. My memoir takes place in Seattle over a four year period. During that time I go to inpatient treatment for alcohol abuse five times. I learned a lot about how I feel and what I believe during those four years.

    You might like to have a peek at an earlier entry of mine titled The Mosquito Bite. I just started my blog on 1 Oct so you won’t have to scroll down too far.

    Congratulations on your book. I’ll certainly look into it. I’m an avid reader – when I’m not writing.

    Best,

    Nef

    • Greg Messel says:

      Thanks Nef. I wrote my memoir before I wrote my two novels. I think as you write your memoir it is a real journey of discovery. I thought writing my memoir would be putting to paper the events of my life as I remember them. It is much more. I learned a lot of things about myself that I didn’t really know. It also helped me understand some of those events in a new way. Thanks for you insights. “Expiation” explores the theme that the outcome of our life turns on so many decisions, some of them do not seem significant at the time–but they are.

  2. Kathy Wassom Peterson says:

    Wow, Greg!!! I had no idea you were published. How exciting!!!! Now I have to go find your books and read them…

    • Greg Messel says:

      Thanks Kathy. It has been really fun but a lot of work. Just do a search on my name on amazon.com is the easiest way to find them. There are also links on this page. We could also work out me sending them directly to you if you prefer. I hope you enjoy them. Good to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

