Indie Book Publishing Radio Show

If you haven’t had a chance yet, listen to my interview with Steve Jorgenson on the Indie Book Publishing show on Toginet Radio.  The link to the interview is http://toginet.com/podcasts/indiebookpublishing/?s=indiebookpublishing.

Steve and I had a chance to discuss several of the underlying themes in “Expiation” and the reasons I wrote it.  We talked about the consequences of making choices in our life.  There are definitely “sliding doors”.  We choose which door to go through when there is a major decision to be made.  Through one door is one life and through the second door is an “alternative” life.  The main characters in “Expiation” found this out.  Kate and Dan each got an alternative life from what they had envisioned in their youth.  It was the consequences of decisions that were made.  Dan’s choices seriously impacted Katie’s life.

That was another theme Steve and I discussed in the interview–expiation.  That is, trying to make restitution for a wrongdoing or correcting a mistake from the past.  That is the meaning of the title “Expiation.”  How much is one person responsible for what happens in another’s life?   Listen as we discuss this issue.

We also talked about the historical backdrop of “Expiation” from the Vietnam War to Y2K to the terrorists attacks on September 11, 2001.  I would have to admit as an old newspaper man, the historical events, especially those in San Francisco, are among my favorite parts of the story in “Expiation.”  The events like the “World Series earthquake”, the Patty Hearst kidnapping, the Zodiac murders and the overheated political climate of Berkeley.  I had a great time discussing these themes with Steve and I hope you enjoy the interview.

About gregmessel

I've written six novels and am working on a seventh. My first three novels were "Expiation," "Sunbreaks" and "The Illusion of Certainty." I'm now working on a series of mysteries set in San Francisco in the 1950s. In 2008, I retired from corporate life and so I can spend more time writing. I spent over ten years in the newspaper business. I now live on Puget Sound in Edmonds, Washington, just north of downtown Seattle.
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

