25th Anniversary Write on the Sound: Writer’s Conference October 1-3, 2010

I am looking forward to attending Write on the Sound: Writers’ Conference this weekend. This conference gets rave reviews every year from the 200 attendees of the 2 ½ day writing conference focusing on the technique of writing and offering a constructive experience for all writers including over 30 in-depth workshops. There is a writing contest every year and this year the theme is “Celebration.”  The registration is already full for this year and the conference seems to get bigger each year.  It is sponsored by the Edmonds Arts Council and fortunately for me is about six blocks from my house in Edmonds, Washington.

This year I had the exciting opportunity to be on The Steering Committee for Write on the Sound.  The committee is made up of volunteers who help plan and facilitate the workshops and events.  As a volunteer I have connected more with the writing community and the local literary people.  Edmonds is a pretty artsy town and there are a lot of writers here.

It is great to hear the perspective of other writers and meet accomplished authors.  One of the things I really enjoy is to hear other writers discuss the process of writing and give tips about developing characters, plot lines and ways to improve your writing.  One discussion I remember last year was about eavesdropping on conversations from a writer’s perspective.  I have found myself doing that over the years not because I am trying to violate someone’s privacy but because I want to develop an ear for dialogue and how people talk to one another.  I thought that was something weird about me.  Another writer mentioned during a workshop last year that she likes to ride the Seattle ferries and listen to people talk to one another, just like me!

Write on the Sound’s keynote speaker this year is author Natalie Goldberg.  I’m really looking forward her keynote address on Saturday.

Follow this link for information about the conference and a video with comments by Natalie Goldberg.   http://www.ci.edmonds.wa.us/ArtsCommission/wots.stm

About gregmessel

I've written six novels and am working on a seventh. My first three novels were "Expiation," "Sunbreaks" and "The Illusion of Certainty." I'm now working on a series of mysteries set in San Francisco in the 1950s. In 2008, I retired from corporate life and so I can spend more time writing. I spent over ten years in the newspaper business. I now live on Puget Sound in Edmonds, Washington, just north of downtown Seattle.
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

